Life Happens

Sorry for the unexpected leave of absence. This week has been very eventful and unfortunately the blog was put on hold. Over the last several days my roommate got married, I transferred from freelance to a permanent position at work, and I got engaged. Needless to say, my days have been full. But don’t fret. I’ve finished my Gilgamesh post and am hard at work on the Iliad. Expect to see something in the next day or two (once things die down). In the meantime, I wanted to show off how I proposed to my fiancé, as it is book-related.


I cut out a secret compartment in an old, leather-bound book. The back pages were glued together so that I could cut a hole for the ring. I gave it to her under the guise of a birthday present. Giving books as gifts is a long-running tradition in our relationship. When we first started dating, we exchanged our favorite books with one another. It may seem backwards, but I gave her The History of Love by Nicole Krauss and she gave me Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. So naturally, this seemed the most fitting way to propose. It turned out to be a huge success. Here’s a photo of the inscription:

If anyone is interested, I found the instructions at one of my favorite blogs, The Art of Manliness. I highly recommend this site.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life Happens

  1. Dr. J says:

    This is brilliant, much more original than the way I proposed. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

