Gilgamesh according to Patrick Stewart

I’ve tried to set aside my Saturdays for blogging. Unfortunately, I’m moving this weekend and haven’t had any time for my second Gilgamesh post. Eventually I would like to get to the point where I’m posting every day or every other day. Until then, I wanted to post something to keep things going. So, I give you Gilgamesh summarized by none other than Captain Jean-Luc Picard. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gilgamesh according to Patrick Stewart

  1. Dr. J says:

    I saw that episode years ago and remember thinking that it was weird that the screenwriters would use Gilgamesh for that scene. I wonder if the majority of the audience had any idea what Picard was talking about.

  2. Brandon says:

    I wondered that too. The Gilgamesh allusion is meant to mirror the bond that Picard and the alien have made on their hunt. The comparison works when you tell the story as Picard has. But in the original, Enkidu’s death is the result of arrogance. Probably not the best story to share with a dying man (alien).

Leave a Reply

